#BakeDaySunday: Cinnamon Muffins

IMG_5701

As usual, it was #bakedaysunday again three days ago! Haha. :))

IMG_5707

Actually, I didn’t have any plans to bake last Sunday because of other stuff. But in the end, I decided to whip up another sweet treat because my pink spatula and measuring cups were incessantly calling my name. Lol.

IMG_5709

So, obviously I made cinnamon muffins that look like cupcakes because of the liners (why did I put liners in the first place??). Fortunately, they taste AMAZING 🙂  Unfortunately, I used up all my ground cinnamon 😦  I guess I have to buy another bottle of cinnamon powder for my oatmeal every night!

IMG_5713

I won’t make this post painfully long because I don’t want to bore you, my dear readers (and because I’ll be working in less than 10 minutes haha). I got this awesome recipe from Add A Pinch (thank you!!), and now I’m gonna share it to you guys!

IMG_5725

Disclaimer: The original recipe calls for streusel toppings, but I didn’t have enough ingredients to make it, so I just opted for the cinnamon-sugar topping indicated on the site’s other muffin recipe. Oh, and I didn’t have vanilla extract AGAIN! Haha. But that didn’t bother the output, anyway.

_______________________________

Cinnamon Muffins
(Recipe courtesy of Add A Pinch)

Ingredients:

For the cinnamon muffin:

2 cups all-purpose flour
11/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup unsalted butter (room temperature)
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk (I used Yakult)

For the cinnamon-sugar topping:

1/2 cup butter (melted)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup ground cinnamon

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Line your muffin tins with liners OR coat with butter or flour to prevent the muffins from sticking on it. (Again, I don’t know why I put liners but oh well)
  2. Sift the flour, baking powder, salt, and ground cinnamon in a separate bowl. Set aside.
  3. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about three minutes.
  4. Add the eggs ONE AT A TIME, making sure that the egg is fully mixed on the batter before adding the other one.
  5. Alternately combine the flour mixture and buttermilk into the batter. Mix until just combined (do not overmix!)
  6. Fill the muffin tins with the batter, about 2/3 or 3/4 full.
  7. Bake for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick or cake tester inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  8. Now, for the topping: melt the butter, then set aside to cool slightly. Mix the cinnamon and sugar in a separate bowl and set aside also.
  9. Once done, let the muffins cool in the pan for about five minutes. Then, one by one, dip the muffins’ tops on the melted butter, then onto the cinnamon-sugar mixture, completely coating the tops. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

_______________________________

After all the shenanigans (lol), you’ll come up with these babies:

IMG_5708

Verdict: so awesome! Each muffin is packed and firm, making it the best breakfast or dinner (yes, you’ll feel full with just two!). Also, I didn’t feel the absence of the vanilla extract. Haha. The muffin and topping go well with each other, so every bite is really filling and enjoyable. Thumbs up!

IMG_5717

I really love cinnamon— it can turn a simple muffin to a really amazing treat for someone with a sweet tooth, which is me. Haha. ❤

IMG_5729

Happy blogging (and baking!)

dfsa.

(PS: All photos are mine; please do not use without my consent. Thank you!)

5 thoughts on “#BakeDaySunday: Cinnamon Muffins

  1. Could…. could these muffins possibly be made with raisins? I’m such a sucker for the cinnamon raisin combination. It comes from having eaten my mother’s cinnamon pinwheels for fourteen years growing up.

Leave a Reply

