To my beautiful baby, my wonderful child: Joan Crawford

Yesterday, a lot of people all over the world expressed their sincerest birthday greetings to you… including me.

Honestly, I’m still amazed by the number of adoring fans you have, even if you’ve been resting for 37 years now. (And no, I’m not talking about those “fans” who just know and acknowledge you as the “axe-swinging-wire-hanger-swishing-rodeo-quoting” lady that the movie Mommie Dearest and your ungrateful daughter Christina portrayed you to be).

For the first time, my fingers hurt because I had so many Instagram pictures to like. Normally, that doesn’t happen. But because it was your birthday, the hashtag #JoanCrawford was flooded with sooo many photos of you.

That still warms my heart until now.

I’m trying not to get too emotional every time I would post something like this, but I’m afraid my love for you won’t let me. Actually, I don’t even understand why I love you this much. This time last year, I think I don’t even know you. But ever since I discovered how amazing you are (thank you so much, documentary on Youtube), somehow, you became a part of my whole system. Now, not a day passes by that I don’t think of you. My phone is filled with your souvenirs. Your voice haunts me. You even turn up in my dreams.

And no, I’m not protesting. Haha.

I don’t know what to say anymore, so I guess I’ll just end (kind of) this post with the words, “I love you so damn much.” That’s it— my whole feelings all wrapped up in that one special sentence.

Thank you for letting me find you and for never allowing me to forget you. Thank you for always inspiring me and being my spirit guide in everything I do. Thank you for leaving such a wonderful legacy that we, your fans, enjoy in the present.

Thank you, Joan, for existing in this world. I don’t know what I would do had you not been born.

Oh, and don’t worry about that negative MD stuff that people still associate with your name. We, the real Joanuts, will take care of those haters and pretenders. 😉

Happy birthday again, my sweet angel!

Love lots,
Jane

(GIFs are all from Tumblr: Crawford in Motion, Nitrate Diva, Theodora Fitzgerald, Joan Crawfords, Weird Movie Village, Get on the Carousel and Baby Bacalling)