#BakeDaySunday: Chocolate Chip (and Double) Cookies

I’m over a week late, but here it is!

IMG_5825

Yes, I baked two kinds of chocolate chip cookies last last Sunday. Why? Because when are chocolate chip cookies too much, right? 😉

IMG_5833

I’ve been baking these simple and yummy chocolate chip cookies for a long time, but I realized I haven’t blogged about it here, not even once. As for the double chocolate chip cookies… well, it’s my first time to try them, and fortunately, they turned out perfectly fine!

IMG_5840

I followed Martha Stewart’s recipe for the chocolate chip cookies and Real Simple’s recipe for the double chocolate chip cookies. These recipes are very easy to follow and understand, and the ingredients are a breeze to find in a grocery store! I’m very thankful for these recipes, cos these cookies are some of my super favorites. ❤

IMG_5837

Disclaimer: I want to decrease my output, so I only used half of the measurements in both recipes. What I will post here are the modified recipes with half measurements. For the original recipe with full measurements, please click the recipe links above (and below lol).

_______________________________

Chocolate Chip Cookies
(Recipe courtesy of Martha Stewart)

IMG_5881

Ingredients:

1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed light brown (washed) sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  2. Whisk together the flour and baking soda in a medium bowl. Set aside.

  3. In a separate large bowl (or if you have an electric mixer), combine the butter with both sugars and beat until light and fluffy (medium speed only).

  4. Set the speed to low, then add the salt, vanilla, and egg. Beat for about one minute.

  5. Add the flour mixture and mix until just combined (do not overmix!). After that, fold in the chocolate chips.

  6. Line your cookie sheet with parchment paper or foil, then place ball-shaped dough at least two inches apart. To shape my cookie dough, I used my 1 tbsp measuring spoon… but you know, it depends on your size preference.
  7. Bake for around 8-10 minutes (in my case, it took me 20 minutes), or until golden around the edges, but soft in the middle.
  8. Once baked, let the cookies cool on the sheet for at least two minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

_______________________________

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies
(Recipe courtesy of Real Simple)

IMG_5882

Ingredients:

1/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/8 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Cream the butter and both sugars in a large bowl (high speed) until light and fluffy.
  3. Set the speed to medium, then add the vanilla and egg.
  4. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  5. Combine the flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix until fully incorporated. Then fold in the chocolate chips.
  6. Line your cookie sheet with parchment paper or foil, then place ball-shaped dough at least two inches apart. To shape my cookie dough, I used my 1 tbsp measuring spoon… but you know, it depends on your size preference.
  7. Bake for about 12 minutes (it also took me 15-20 minutes) or until the centers are soft yet fully baked.
  8. Once done, cool on the sheet for about 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

_______________________________

The result? Super chewy and unbelievably delicious cookies!

IMG_5827

I know I’ve done good when my sister hugs me as soon as she takes a bite of my baked treats. When she tasted my cinnamon bread and these cookies, she hugged me so tight. Haha. These cookies are actually some of my “bestseller,” as if I sell them. Lol.

IMG_5819

These cookies are perfect for a lazy afternoon and best paired with coffee, milk and hot chocolate (why not??). I will definitely bake these again! ❤

IMG_5876

Happy blogging (and baking!)

dfsa.

(PS: All photos are mine; please do not use without my consent. Thank you!)

4 thoughts on “#BakeDaySunday: Chocolate Chip (and Double) Cookies

Leave a Reply

